Cincinnati Cyclones (East Coast Hockey League)

From Ohio History Central

The Cincinnati Cyclones was a professional hockey team from Cincinnati, Ohio. The team played in the East Coast Hockey League's (ECHL) Western Division from 1990 to 1992. During the 1990-1991 season, the Cyclones finished second in its division, with a combined record of thirty-seven wins and twenty-seven losses. The following season, the squad finished second again in the West Division, with thirty-six wins and twenty-eight losses. Following the 1991-1992 season, the Cincinnati Cyclones relocated to Birmingham, Alabama, and became the Birmingham Bulls.

A new Cincinnati Cyclones team emerged, playing in the ECHL's Northwest Division, in the 2001-2002 season. The team continues to play in the ECHL at the time of this writing. During its first several seasons, the Cyclones never finished higher than third in its division. The team did not play during the 2005-2006 season due to declining revenue and arena difficulties. The Cincinnati Cyclones returned for the 2006-2007 season, and in the 2007-2008 season, the squad won its division as well as the Kelly Cup, the award given to the ECHL's champion.

See Also