Trumbull County

From Ohio History Central
Trumbull County map.jpg

On July 10, 1800, the government of the Northwest Territory authorized the creation of Trumbull County. It originally was a portion of the Connecticut Western Reserve. The county was named in honor of Connecticut Governor Jonathan Trumbull.

Trumbull County is located in northeastern Ohio and covers 616 square miles. The county's eastern border helps form the boundary between Ohio and Pennsylvania. The county's population declined by 1.2 percent between 1990 and 2000 to a total of 225,116 residents. Warren is the county seat and the largest city in the county, with 46,832 residents in 2000. Trumbull County averages over 365 residents per square mile.

Trumbull County is overwhelmingly rural, with only four percent of the county's land area classified as urban. Most residents work in manufacturing, sales, or service positions. Farming ranks a distant fifth. Historically, steel production was a major industry in the county because of the  large deposits of coal and iron ore  in surrounding counties. Trumbull County's average income was 25,022 dollars per person in 1999, with 11.2 percent of the population living in poverty.

Most voters in Trumbull County claim to be independents.

United States President William McKinley, Jr., was born in the Trumbull County village of Niles. Trumbull County also was the birthplace of Clarence Darrow, a prominent American attorney during the early twentieth century.

See Also