Ohio Branch of the Council of National Defense

23 bytes added, 02:10, 29 April 2013
Adding Topic
Members of the Ohio Branch of the Council of National Defense included prominent leaders such as William Oxley Thompson, the president of The Ohio State University; Alfred Vivian, the Dean of the College of Agriculture at The Ohio State University; Clark S. Wheeler, Director of Agricultural Extension; T. J. Duffy, who chaired the Ohio Industrial Commission; Fred C. Croxton from the Ohio Institute of Public Efficiency, who was also the head of the Food Administration in Ohio during the war; and George Stauffer, secretary of the State Board of Agriculture. The council also created an influential Women's Committee, which meant that a number of women had important roles in Ohio's mobilization efforts. Mrs. George Zimmerman was the first chair of the Women's Committee. She was later succeeded by Belle Sherwin. The council established a number of committees that focused on specific aspects of the mobilization plan and incorporated key Ohioans as members. These committees included Finance, Food Conservation and Supply, Mining, Publicity, Labor and Industrial Relations, Americanization, Transportation, and County and Community Organization. The committees reflect the broad power and influence that the Ohio Branch of the Council of National Defense had during World War I.
[[Category:History Organizations]]
[[Category:The Progressive Era]][[Category:Government and Politics]][[Category:World Wars]]