Montgomery County

43 bytes added, 02:15, 29 April 2013
Adding Topic
On March 24, 1803, the Ohio legislature authorized the creation of '''Montgomery County'''. Residents named the county in honor of Richard Montgomery, a hero of the American Revolution. Previously, the county had been parts of Ross and Hamilton Counties. Wilbur and Orville Wright owned a bicycle shop in Dayton, the county seat, during the late nineteenth and early twentieth century. It was here that the Wrights developed the first powered aircraft to fly successfully <br />
Montgomery County is located in western Ohio. It is predominantly rural. Seventeen percent of the county's 462 square miles consist of urban areas. With a population of 166,179 people, Dayton was the county's largest community in 2000. The county experienced a 2.6 percent decline in population between 1990 and 2000. There were 559, 062 people living in Montgomery County in 2000.The county averages 1,210 people per square mile.
<br />
[[Category:History Places]]
[[Category:Exploration To Statehood]][[Category:Communities and Counties]]