Huron County

26 bytes added, 17:52, 29 July 2015
no edit summary
| image = [[File:Huron County map.jpg]]
<p>On February 7, 1809, the State of Ohio authorized the creation of Huron County. Residents named the county after the Huron Indianspeople, also known as the Wyandot. The county was originally a portion of the Connecticut Western Reserve and was also part of the Fire Lands.<br />
<br />
Huron County is located in the north-central portion of Ohio. The county seat is Norwalk, which is the county's largest population center, with 16,238 residents in 2000. The county experienced almost a six percent increase in population between 1990 and 2000, raising the number of residents to 59,487 people. An average of 121 people lives in each of Huron County's 493 square miles. <br />