Treaty of Fort Stanwix (1784)

21 bytes removed, 22:11, 24 April 2013
no edit summary
In 1784, the government of the newly independent United States entered into a treaty with the Six Nations of the Iroquois.
The first step in this process was the Treaty of Fort Stanwix (1784). In this treaty, the Six Nations of the Iroquois agreed to relinquish all claims to the Ohio Country. The Six Nations included the Tuscaroras, the Mohawks, the Onondagas, the Oneidas, the Senecas, and the Cayugas. Few of these groups actually lived in the Ohio Country, although they all did claim land there. The Ohio Country natives, including the Shawnee Indians, the Mingo Indians, the Delaware Indians, and several other tribes rejected the treaty. The Ohio Country became a violent place as American settlers began to arrive in the region in the mid 1780s.
[[Category:History]] [[Category:Documents]] [[Category:{$topic}]]
[[Category:Exploration To Statehood]]
Anonymous user