Columbus Buckeyes (Negro National League)

From Ohio History Central

The Columbus Buckeyes was a professional African American baseball team.

During the late 1800s and the early 1900s, professional baseball teams and leagues were segregated. African Americans did not play on teams with white players. White teams and black teams did not play in the same professional leagues. As a result of this segregation, there were separate leagues and teams for whites and blacks in professional baseball's early decades.

The Columbus Buckeyes played its home games in Columbus, Ohio. The team was originally known as the Dayton Marcos and played its games in Dayton, Ohio.

The Dayton Marcos was organized in the 1910s as an amateur club. It played in the Ohio-Indiana League, which was an amateur league that contained both white and black teams. No records have survived as to how the team fared in this league.

In 1920, Rube Foster, a member of the Chicago American Giants, established the Negro National League. The new league originally consisted of eight African-American ball clubs. The Dayton Marcos was one of the charter teams. In its first season, the Marcos finished in last place in the league. The team moved to Columbus, where it became known as the Columbus Buckeyes. Following the 1921 season, the Columbus Buckeyes disbanded.

See Also