Land Offices

From Ohio History Central

In order to speed up and help the sale of these lands, the federal government opened land offices in Ohio. The first offices were established at Steubenville, Marietta, Chillicothe and Cincinnati. Later, offices were added at Zanesville and Canton (later moved to Wooster). Finally, the government opened offices at Piqua, Delaware and Tiffin in order to sell the remaining Indian lands.

See Also